PhD workshop

PhD workshop

Der jährlich stattfindende PhD-Workshop wurde 2012 als Kooperation zwischen der Universität Aarhus, der transmediale und wechselnden Partnerinstitutionen ins Leben gerufen. Er schafft ein Forum für Spekulation, Kritik, Austausch und Dialog in der Wissenschaft. Sein primärer Fokus liegt auf den individuellen Forschungsprojekten der Teilnehmer_innen, sowie der Förderung von Netzwerken, Wissensaustausch und -verbreitung. 

Der jährlich stattfindende PhD-Workshop wurde 2012 als Kooperation zwischen der Universität Aarhus, der transmediale und wechselnden Partnerinstitutionen ins Leben gerufen. Er schafft ein Forum für Spekulation, Kritik, Austausch und Dialog in der Wissenschaft. Sein primärer Fokus liegt auf den individuellen Forschungsprojekten der Teilnehmer_innen, sowie der Förderung von Netzwerken, Wissensaustausch und -verbreitung. 

Das Workshopthema orientiert sich für gewöhnlich am transmediale-Thema des jeweiligen Jahres, das reflektiert und erweitert werden soll. Die Teilnehmer_innen besuchen geschlossene Seminare und Vorträge in jährlich wechselnden Partnerinstitutionen und halten öffentliche Präsentationen auf dem Festival. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt zudem auf der Publikationstätigkeit: Die Workshop-Teilnehmer_innen veröffentlichen Beiträge in APRJA_, einer Peer-Review-Printpublikation mit dazugehöriger Open Access-Onlineplattform.
 

Vergangene PhD-Workshops:

 

2018: RESEARCH VALUES
Diese Workshop-Ausgabe wird Wert und Werte in den Medien und der digitalen Kultur untersuchen.
Workshop im Brandenburgischen Zentrum für Medienwissenschaften – ZeM, Potsdam

2017: MACHINE RESEARCH
Dieser Workshop befasste sich mit Forschung zu Maschinen und Forschung als Maschine.
Workshop im World Trade Center Brüssel.

2016: EXCESSIVE RESEARCH
Excessive Research fragte: was passiert, wenn sich Forschung weniger um Austausch und mehr um Exzess dreht?
Workshop am Contemporary Art Lab der Liverpool John Moores University, in Kooperation mit der Liverpool Biennial.

2015: Datafied Research
Datafied Research untersuchte die möglichen Auswirkungen von Datafizierung auf Forschung. Wie die transmediale 2015 CAPTURE ALL setzte sich der Workshop auch mit der allgegenwärtigen Quantifizierung von Leben, Arbeit und Spiel auseinander.
Workshop an der School of Creative Media, City University of Hong Kong.

2014: Post-digital Research
Post-digital Research sprach die chaotischen und paradoxen Bedingungen von Kunst und Medien nach der technologischen Revolution an.
Workshop in der Kunsthal Aarhus.

2013: Researching BWPWAP
Researching BWPWAP untersuchte, welche Arten von technologischer und künstlerischer Praxis möglicherweise radikale Effekte auf institutionalisierte Forschungskultur haben können.
Workshop an der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg

2012: in/compatible research
in/compatible Research befasste sich in Anlehnung an die transmediale 2011 mit inkompatiblen Interfaces, Methoden und Märkten.
Workshop an der Universität der Künste, Berlin.

share

Related publications:

PhD workshop

PhD workshop

The annual PhD workshop was initiated in 2012 as a collaboration of Aarhus University, transmediale, and varying partner organizations. It provides a forum for emerging researchers to enter into speculation, critique, exchange, and dialog about their research topic. The primary focus is on the participants’ individual research projects, as well fostering networks, knowledge exchange and widening dissemination.

The annual PhD workshop was initiated in 2012 as a collaboration of Aarhus University, transmediale, and varying partner organizations. It provides a forum for emerging researchers to enter into speculation, critique, exchange, and dialog about their research topic. The primary focus is on the participants’ individual research projects, as well fostering networks, knowledge exchange and widening dissemination.

The workshop theme is usually inspired by the respective transmediale theme of the year; it aims to reflect on and extend the subject matter at hand. Workshop participants take part in closed seminars and talks at varying partner institutions as well as public presentations at transmediale festival in Berlin. There is also an emphasis on publication: workshop participants contribute to APRJA_, a printed peer-reviewed newspaper with an associated open access online platform.

Previous PhD workshops:

 

2018: RESEARCH VALUES
This workshop edition will interrogate value and values in contemporary media and digital culture.
Workshop at Brandenburg Center for Media Studies – ZeM, Potsdam

2017: MACHINE RESEARCH
A workshop about research on machines, research with machines, and research as a machine.
Workshop at Brussels World Trade Center.

2016: EXCESSIVE RESEARCH
EXCESSIVE RESEARCH asked: What happens when research is less about exchange and more about excess?
Workshop at Contemporary Art Lab, Liverpool John Moores University, in partnership with Liverpool Biennial.

2015: Datafied Research
This workshop edition examined the implications of datafication for research. Like transmediale 2015 CAPTURE ALL, it aimed to investigate and propose actions that push against the limits of today’s pervasive quantification of life, work, and play.
Workshop at School of Creative Media, City University of Hong Kong.

2014: Post-digital Research
Post-digital Research addressed the messy and paradoxical condition of art and media after digital technology revolutions.
Workshop at Kunsthal Aarhus.

2013: Researching BWPWAP
Researching BWPWAP posed the question as to what kinds of technological and artistic practices might produce radical effects for an institutionalized research culture. How can we save research from itself?
Workshop at Leuphana University of Lüneburg

2012: in/compatible Research
in/compatible Research looked at incompatible interfaces, incompatible methods, and incompatible markets.
Workshop at Berlin University of the Arts.

 

 

share

Related publications: