Vilém Flusser Residency for Artistic Research 2020: Pete Jiadong Qiang

11.03.2020
HyperBody: Pinkray - Room 401, West Street of Temple of the Moon, VR game screenshot, London, 2020

Vilém Flusser Residency for Artistic Research 2020: Pete Jiadong Qiang

HyperBody: Pinkray - Room 401, West Street of Temple of the Moon, VR game screenshot, London, 2020
HyperBody: Pinkray - Room 401, West Street of Temple of the Moon, VR game screenshot, London, 2020; Courtesy the artist and Emma Tianyu Xiao

Qiangs Forschung behandelt virtuelle und computergenerierte Architektur und untersucht neue techno-orientalische Kontexte, in denen queere Körper leben und handeln können.

Wir freuen uns bekanntzugeben, dass Pete Jiadong Qiang für das Vilém Flusser Residency Program for Artistic Research 2020 ausgewählt wurde. Sein Projekt HyperBody überzeugte die Jurymitglieder Anita Jóri, Nora O Murchú und Martha Schwendener.

Qiangs Forschung behandelt virtuelle und computergenerierte Architektur und untersucht neue techno-orientalische Kontexte, in denen queere Körper leben und handeln können. Diese experimentellen Landschaften haben das Potenzial, heterogene Welten bestehend aus Fragmenten von Anime-, Comic-, Gaming- und Fandom-Bildelementen zusammenzubringen. Durch die Öffnung dieser Räume für andere entwirft Qiang spekulative Zukünfte, die von kulturellen Werten geprägt sind und so die Begegnung mit technologischen und künstlerischen Produktionen aus einem asiatischen Bezugsrahmen stammend ermöglichen.

Im Rahmen der Residenz wird Qiang diese Forschung in Berlin fortsetzen und ethnografische Studien zu Clubs, öffentlichen Räumen und queeren Communities durchführen. Die Studien werden der Entwicklung einer immersiven Landschaft zugrunde liegen - einer kollektiv bewohnten Umwelt aus einer queeren Perspektive heraus betrachtet, die beabsichtigt unser Verständnis des Ortes zu politisieren und desorientieren. Dieser Ansatz hinterfragt nicht nur die Art und Weise, wie wir die Zwänge und Grenzen unserer materiellen Welt wahrnehmen, sondern entwirft auch alternative Praktiken der Gesellschaftlichkeit. In HyperBody zielt Qiangs Maximalistischer Ansatz darauf ab, den Raum, der Berliner Körper umgibt, durch visuellen Exzess und die Entfaltung multipler Welten des Begehrens neu zu definieren.

“(...) wir können unsere Körper nicht länger als Dinge unter anderen Dingen in der Welt betrachten. Wir sehen unsere Körper nun als Vermittler zwischen uns selbst und all den anderen Dingen in der Welt. Und in der Tat, da alle Dinge von uns auf die eine oder andere Weise durch unseren Körper erfahren werden, sollten wir eine Karte unseres Körpers erstellen, bevor wir versuchen können, Karten von Dingen in der Welt zu erstellen.” (Vilém Flusser, Toward a map of the body)

Aus Sicht der Jury findet Qiangs Projekt Resonanz bei Theoretiker*innen, die sich mit queerem Utopismus und Hoffnungsgemeinschaften befassen. In HyperBody entwickelt Qiang eine Strategie zur Revitalisierung, um einen Diskurs über Widerstand und den Wiederaufbau von Welten zu schaffen - eine notwendige politische Geste in unserem gegenwärtigen politischen Moment.

Das Residency Programm ist eine Kooperation zwischen dem Vilém Flusser Archiv an der Universität der Künste Berlin (UdK) und der transmediale, Festival für Kunst und digitale Kultur.
 

share

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Related participants:

Vilém Flusser Residency for Artistic Research 2020: Pete Jiadong Qiang

10.03.2020
HyperBody: Pinkray - Room 401, West Street of Temple of the Moon, VR game screenshot, London, 2020

Vilém Flusser Residency for Artistic Research 2020: Pete Jiadong Qiang

HyperBody: Pinkray - Room 401, West Street of Temple of the Moon, VR game screenshot, London, 2020
HyperBody: Pinkray - Room 401, West Street of Temple of the Moon, VR game screenshot, London, 2020; Courtesy the artist and Emma Tianyu Xiao

For the residency, Qiang will continue to develop his research in Berlin, conducting ethnographic studies of clubs, public spaces and queer communities.

We are delighted to announce Pete Jiadong Qiang has been selected for the Vilém Flusser Residency Program for Artistic Research 2020. His project HyperBody was selected by jury members Anita Jóri, Nora O Murchú, and Martha Schwendener.

Qiang’s ongoing research embraces virtual and computational architecture to investigate new techno-Oriental contexts for queer bodies to inhabit and negotiate. These experimental landscapes offer the potential for connections across heterogeneous worlds made up of fragments of anime and gaming pictorial elements. In opening up these spaces for others to inhabit, Qiang offers speculative futures that are imbued with cultural values for the encounter of technological and artistic productions that reside within an Asian framework. 

For the residency, Qiang will continue to develop this research in Berlin, conducting ethnographic studies of clubs, public spaces and queer communities. These studies will inform the development of an immersive landscape in Berlin — a collectively inhabited environment opened through a queer lens that intends to politicise and disorient our understandings of the site. It not only challenges how we perceive the constraints and limits of our material world but also imagines other practices of sociality. In HyperBody Qiang’s Maximalist approach aims to redefine the space enveloping Berlin-based bodies through visual excess and the unfolding of multiple worlds of desire. 

“(...) we can no longer see our bodies as things among other things in the world. We now see our bodies as mediations between ourselves and all the other things in the world. In fact: because all things are experienced by us through our body one way or another, we ought to make a map of our body before we can try to make maps of things in the world” (Vilém Flusser, Toward a map of the body).

For the jury, Qiang’s project resonates with theorists around queer utopianism and communities of hope. In HyperBody Qiang develops a strategy for revitalisation in order to create discourse around resistance and the rebuilding of worlds — a needed political gesture within our present political moment. 

The residency program is a cooperation between the Vilém Flusser Archive at Berlin University of the Arts (UdK) and transmediale, festival for art and digital culture Berlin.

share

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Related participants: