Imaging With Machine Processes

Hood Museum of Art, Dartmouth College, Hanover, New Hampshire; gift of the artist

The Generative Art of Sonia Landy Sheridan

 

„Unser wichtigstes Anliegen ist es, Technologie kreativ weiterzuentwickeln und sie für die Befriedigung menschlicher Bedürfnisse anzuwenden.“ Sonia Landy Sheridan über das Programm Generative Systems, das sie 1970 an der Hochschule des Art Institute of Chicago gründete, 1976

 

„(...) ermöglicht Studenten ein Spektrum an künstlerischer Erfahrung in der Erkundung von Energie für die manuelle, mechanische, elektronische und fotonische Erzeugung von Bildern (...) und lasst sie Dutzende von Kommunikationsapparaten auseinanderbauen und untersuchen.“ Sonia Landy Sheridan über den Generative Systems-Unterricht, 1990

 

„Mache 19 Jahre lang jeden Tag fünf Bilder, dann wirst du hier und da und überall verteilt 34.675 Bilder haben.“ Sonia Landy Sheridan auf der Facebook-Seite von Generative Systems, 4. November 2012

 

Seit Sonia Landy Sheridan (geb. 1925) in den 1960er Jahren mit neuen Kommunikationstechnologien in Kontakt kam, nutzte die Künstlerin sie spielerisch und setzte sich kritisch mit ihnen auseinander, um wechselnde Formen von ästhetischer Schönheit und philosophischer Tiefe zu kreieren. Imaging with Machine Processes. The Generative Art of Sonia Landy Sheridan – ihre erste Einzelausstellung in Europa – gibt mit einer ganzen Bandbreite an Material Einblick in ihr großes, facettenreiches und wirklich einzigartiges Werk. Sheridan experimentierte mit maschinellen Prozessen, angefangen bei frühen elektronischen Geräten für den Haus- und Bürogebrauch wie Thermo-Fax oder dem Farbkopierer 3M Color-in-Color bis hin zu Softwaretools wie Easel, Lumena, Vango und Adobe Photoshop, um sie über die Politik instrumenteller Vernunft hinaus offen auf ihr generatives Potenzial für das Kreieren von Bildern hin zu untersuchen. Wie eine Hacker- oder Glitch-Künstlerin avant la lettre nutzte sie „Bugs“ und von Maschinen zufällig produzierte Effekte, um deren Autorität zu entmythologisieren und sie sich für eine subversive Ausdrucksweise künstlerischer Kreativität anzueignen. So bot sie eine radikal neue Sicht auf die Entwicklung von Technologien und die Technologie-Gesellschaft.

 

Neben älteren Arbeiten und Dokumenten präsentiert die Ausstellung auch neue Objekte und Drucke. Das weite Spektrum offenbart die methodische und inhaltliche Kontinuität von Sheridans Werk und ihre Offenheit für den fortwährenden dynamischen Wandel der Beziehungen zwischen Technologie, sozialen Bedingungen und Kunst.

 

Darüber hinaus beleuchtet die Ausstellung Sheridans Engagement für die Bildung und ihr visionäres Verständnis der Lehre innerhalb institutioneller Rahmen und stellt das Lehrprogramm Generative Systems vor, das sie in den 1970er Jahren entwickelte und leitete. Besucher können Film- und Fotomaterial sichten, das dieses Engagement dokumentiert. Auf einer Tafel ist täglich ein von Sheridan an diesem Tag auf der Facebook-Seite von Generative Systems gepostetes Zitat zu lesen.

 

Festival edition: 
2013

share

Imaging With Machine Processes

Hood Museum of Art, Dartmouth College, Hanover, New Hampshire; gift of the artist

The Generative Art of Sonia Landy Sheridan

 

Our primary concern is the creative development and application of technology to human need. – Sonia Landy Sheridan on the Generative Systems program that she founded in 1970 at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, 1976

 

… give the students a range of experience, from the artist’s vantage point in re-examining energy for imaging manually, mechanically, electronically and photonically … and to pull apart and examine dozens of communication machines. – Sonia Landy Sheridan on Generative Systems classes, 1990


Make 5 images a day for 19 years and you have 34,675 images stashed here and there and everywhere. – Sonia Landy Sheridan on Generative Systems Facebook page, November 4, 2012

 

Ever since Sonia Landy Sheridan (b. 1925) first got her hands on new communication technologies in the late 1960s, she has playfully interacted and critically engaged with them to permit the imagination to develop alternate forms of both aesthetic beauty and philosophical depth. Imaging with Machine Processes. The Generative Art of Sonia Landy Sheridan—her first solo exhibition in Europe—presents a wide variety of material relating to this manifold, extensive and truly unique line of work. From early consumer electronic devices such as Thermo-Fax and the industrial 3M Color-in-Color photocopier, to software tools like EASEL, Lumena, Vango and Adobe Photoshop, Sheridan has experimented with machine processes to openly explore their generative capabilities for imaging beyond the politics of instrumental reason. Like a hacker or glitch artist avant la lettre, she has used “bugs” and unintentional effects produced by the machines to demythologize their authority and appropriate them for insubordinate expressions of artistic invention, essentially proposing a radical new perspective for the development of technology and of technological society.

 

The exhibition combines historical works and documents with contemporary objects and prints. The breadth of exhibited work shows the continuity in Sheridan’s art in terms of method and concerns, as well as its receptiveness to continual and dynamic change in the interrelationship between technology, social conditions and art.

 

The exhibition also emphasizes Sheridan’s strong involvement in education and her challenging vision of teaching within institutional frameworks, in particular the Generative Systems program she set up and ran throughout the 1970s. In addition to film and photo material documenting this involvement, on every day of the festival a blackboard features a quote Sheridan posts that same day on the Generative Systems Facebook page.

 

The exhibition is made in collaboration with the artist, Cinémathèque québécoise and The Hood Museum of Art.

 

share