transmediale 2018

face value

Things are what they are—but could they be different? Die transmediale 2018 face value widmet sich einer Bestandsaufnahme, einer Erfassung der Umstände unserer Zeit in ihrem Kern – um zu verstehen, wie man sie verändern könnte. Im Vordergrund steht der Versuch, diejenigen Werte und Wertschöpfungsprozesse offenzulegen, die zu den extremen politischen, ökonomischen und kulturellen Gräben unserer Gegenwart beigetragen haben. Dabei möchte das Festival neue Möglichkeiten ausloten, sich der alarmierenden Entwicklung eines digitalen Populismus, der Radikalisierung der Netzkultur und neuen Kulturkämpfen zu widersetzen und diese zu dekonstruieren.

Durch reaktionäre und algorithmisch gelenkte Kommunikationspraxen erscheint es im öffentlichen Diskurs mittlerweile normal, Dinge für bare Münze zu nehmen [taking things at face value]. Mit der kommenden Festivalausgabe möchte die transmediale diese Tendenz hinterfragen und den Blick auf tiefer liegende, weniger offensichtliche Probleme richten, die sich durch alle Bereiche der Gesellschaft ziehen. Dazu zählen bei Veranstaltungen zu digitaler Kultur kaum diskutierte Machtdifferenzen wie Ungleichheitsverhältnisse von class, gender und race, die auch in technologische Systeme implementiert werden. Tatsächlich scheint die (post)digitale Kultur heute Hass schürenden, rassistischen und neokolonialen Mächte eher einen fruchtbaren Nährboden zu bieten, als emanzipatorische Alternativen hervorzubringen. Das sollte jedoch kein Grund sein, sich nach einer mythischen Vergangenheit zurückzusehnen, in der angeblich das Internet frei und die digitale Kreativität ungebremst waren. Vielmehr ist eine Öffnung gegenüber aufrüttelnden, aber auch einenden kulturellen Praxen und mutigem spekulativen Denken vonnöten – ebenso wie eine selbstkritische Haltung und ein Bewusstsein dafür, dass nichts jemals so simpel ist, wie es auf den ersten Blick scheint. Auch Kulturveranstaltungen wie die transmediale beziehen ihre Einflüsse aus unterschiedlichen politischen Vorstellungswelten und Gemeinschaften, die zwar Widerstand leisten, aber zugleich eine Mitschuld an den Entwicklungen tragen, welche es so dringend aufzuhalten gilt.

In Anbetracht dieser aktuellen Herausforderungen und Paradoxien stellt sich die Frage, wie Künstler_innen, Kulturschaffende und Theoretiker_innen ihre eigenen Wertesysteme reflektieren – facing values – und darüber hinaus auf die gegenwärtige Tendenz reagieren können, Dinge in erster Linie nach dem äußeren Anschein zu beurteilen – taking things at face value. Wie lassen sich Vorurteile und ausbeuterische Mechanismen als das benennen, was sie sind, um so neue Wege des Widerstands, der Dekonstruktion und der Überwindung zu entwerfen? Wie gewohnt bietet das Programm eine Vielzahl von kuratorischen Formaten und Arten des Wissensaustauschs, die einen zweifachen Ansatz verfolgen: Wert und Werte zu befragen und kulturellen Wandel vor dem Hintergrund von Ökonomisierung und sich verändernden Wertekatalogen zu betrachten. Das kuratorische Konzept bringt Formate und Teilnehmer_innen aus allen Teilen des Programms in transversalen Kombinationen zusammen.

transmediale 2018 means transmediale 2018 does not mean transmediale 2018 means transmediale 2018

Kristoffer Gansing (Künstlerischer Leiter), Daphne Dragona (Kuratorin Konferenzprogramm), Inga Seidler (Kuratorin Ausstellungsprogramm) & Florian Wüst (Kurator Film- & Video-Programm)

Website

Hier geht es zur archivierten Festival-Website

Mehr zu...

Konferenzprogramm
Film- & Videoprogramm
Festivalausstellung Territories of Complicity
und der Gastausstellung A Becoming Resemblance
Teilnehmer_innen

Veranstaltungsdokumentation

Videoaufnahmen
Audioaufnahmen

Festival-Partner

mehr

Festival-Team

mehr

Exhibition Architecture 2018 – Territories of Complicity by raumlaborberlin

Ausstellungsarchitektur 2018 – Territories of Complicity

Vom Studiolo zum Freihafen
von raumlaborberlin

Mit der Ausstellungsarchitektur für Territories of Complicity thematisiert raumlaborberlin die Entwicklung des physischen Raums, in dem Kunstwerke über Jahrhunderte hinweg gesammelt wurden. Seit der frühen Neuzeit hatte sich der Kunstbegriff in Europa verändert; mit dem Aufkommen der neuen Klasse des Bürgertums erhielten Kunstwerke neben ihrem religiösen und repräsentationalen Zweck einen neuen Wert.

Geschlossenen Kabinette oder Studiolos und private Studienorte in edlen Palästen wurden zu den ersten Sammlerräumen der neuen Ära. In der späteren Entwicklung wurden diese Räume als „Wunderkammern“ und „Kunstkabinette“ zu Vorläufern zeitgenössischer Museen. Die enzyklopädisch gesammelten Gegenstände wurden dort einem kleinen Kreis präsentiert und demonstrierten die Macht und das Kulturverständnis der Besitzer_innen. Die Sammlungen wuchsen in erster Linie mit dem Ziel, Wissenschaftler_innen und Forscher_innen für Studienzwecke zu dienen; später entwickelten sie sich zu Museen, die auch einem breiteren Publikum freien Zugang zu Kunst und Kultur ermöglichten.

Gleichzeitig wurden Kunstobjekte in den letzten Jahrhunderten zunehmend wie Waren gesammelt und permanent auf dem Markt gehandelt, wo ihr ökonomischer Wert – wie bei anderen Vermögenswerten – immer wieder Schwankungen unterliegt. Als Vermögenswert muss das Kunstwerk geschützt werden, um seinen Wert zu erhalten. Es auszustellen wird bereits als Konsum angesehen. Der Transport ist immer riskant und selbst die Lichteinwirkung kann schädlich sein. Sichere Lagerung ist deshalb notwendig: am besten in Ländern, in den Waren zoll- und steuerfrei bewegt werden können. Mit Freihäfen sind Sammler_innen wieder auf die Nutzung intimer Räume angewiesen, um ihre kostbaren Güter zu bewahren – so intim, dass nicht einmal sie selbst direkten Zugang zu den Kunstwerken haben.

Die Ausstellungshalle im Haus der Kulturen der Welt wird von einem massiven Objekt eingenommen: Eine Plattform, die einem Containerschiff gleicht, umfasst acht Containerräume, in denen zwölf Künstler_innen ausstellen, sowie einen Bühnenbereich für Präsentationen und Diskussionen. Die Kunstwerke werden wie einst in Kabinetten ausgestellt, wie die gesammelten Wertgegenstände der „Wunderkammer“. Allerdings sind sie durch einen Überbau organisiert, der wie ein Teil eines Lagerhallenkorridors scheint, zu dessen Seiten Stellräume liegen. Das Konstrukt besteht aus vorgefertigten Einzelteilen: Bühnenkomponenten, deren klare, ausgeprägte Raster normalerweise dazu dienen, horizontale Flächen für Events zu schaffen, werden hier neu interpretiert, um vertikale Wände zu errichten. Deren Modularität sowie das scharfe und glänzende Erscheinungsbild ihrer Aluminiumrahmen stellen einen Bezug zur ökonomischen und räumlichen Rationalität und Optimierung her, welche das Fundament des Systems bilden und auf die Materialität von Freihafenanlagen verweisen. Zugleich erinnern der warme Braunton der Elemente und die geschlossenen Räume an die Intimität der Renaissance-Studiolos, die sich durch eine hölzerne Vertäfelung und Möblierung auszeichneten.

Marc Garrett at the opening ralley of transmediale 2018 face value
Goo Goo Muck Analytics and Sergey Schmidt at the opening ralley of transmediale 2018 face value
Impression of transmediale 2018 face value
Françoise Vergès delivering her keynote "Politics of Forgetfulness" at transmediale 2018 face value
A Becoming Resemblance by Heather Dewey-Hagborg and Chelsea Manning, exhibited at transmediale 2018
Territories of Complicity, installation view, transmediale 2018 face value
James Ferraro presents: Plague at transmediale 2018 face value
Lisa Nakamura delivering her keynote "Call Out, Protest, Speak Back" at transmediale 2018 face value
Impression of the panel "Biased Futures" at transmediale 2018 face value.

transmediale 2018

face value

Things are what they are—but could they be different? transmediale 2018 face value aims to take stock of current affairs, to recognize things for what they are before saying how they could be different. It is an attempt to probe the values, as well as the processes of value creation, that have contributed to our present moment of extreme political, economic, and cultural divides. The festival seeks possible new ways of resisting and deconstructing the alarming development of a digital populism, the radicalization of net culture and the new culture wars.

“Taking things at face value” seems to have become the norm of public discourse amidst today’s reactionary and algorithmically guided communication practices. transmediale wants to challenge this impulse to judge things by their immediate appearance and instead look at less visible issues, which run deep across all sectors of society. These include power relations rarely discussed at digital culture events, such as contemporary imbalances of class, gender, and race, which are also being built into technological systems. In fact, rather than providing an emancipatory alternative, (post-)digital culture today seems to support hate-mongering, racist and neo-colonial powers.This, however, should not be a reason to lament a mythical past, back in which, supposedly, the internet was free and digital creativity unbound. Rather, there is a need to embrace both unsettling and uniting cultural practices, as well as daring speculative thinking, to promote auto-criticality and an awareness that nothing is ever as simple as its surface suggests. Similarly, cultural events like transmediale are made up of different political imaginaries and communities that are simultaneously resistant and complicit to the developments one so urgently needs to oppose.

With these challenges and paradoxes of the present moment in mind, how can artists, cultural workers, and speculative theorists respond to the current politics of taking things at face value and, at the same time, face their own values? How does one name biases and exploitative mechanisms for what they are, in order to formulate new ways to resist, deconstruct or move beyond them?

As usual, the program takes on a variety of curatorial formats and modes of knowledge exchange, which are united in a twofold approach of interrogating value and values, looking at cultural shifts against the background of economization and changing value sets. The curatorial approach is one of transversal combination of formats and participants across the whole program.

transmediale 2018 means transmediale 2018 does not mean transmediale 2018 means transmediale 2018

Kristoffer Gansing (artistic director), Daphne Dragona (conference program), Inga Seidler (exhibition program) & Florian Wüst (film & video program)

Website

Go to archived website

Explore the ...

Conference program
Film & Video program
festival exhibition Territories of Complicity
and the guest exhibition A Becoming Resemblance
Participants

Check out the ...

video documentation
audio documentation

Festival Partner

read more

Festival Team

read more

Exhibition Architecture 2018 – Territories of Complicity by raumlaborberlin

Exhibition Architecture 2018 – Territories of Complicity

From the Studiolo to the Free Port
by raumlaborberlin

With the exhibition architecture for Territories of Complicity, raumlaborberlin address the evolution of the physical space in which works of art have been collected over the centuries. In Europe the concept of art has changed since the early modern period, and with the emergence of the new class of the bourgeoisie, works of art became amassed a new value in addition to their religious and representational purpose.

The enclosed spaces of cabinets or studiolos, private study retreats in noble palaces, became the first collector’s rooms of the new era. In later iterations—as Wunderkammern and Kunstkabinette—these became precursors of contemporary museums. There, the encyclopaedic collected items were presented to a small audience, demonstrating the power and culturedness of the owner. Collections grew primarily with the purpose of serving scientist and researchers for their studies and later developed into museums: institutions that allowed a wider audience to enjoy a free access to art and culture.

Over the last few centuries, artistic artefacts have increasingly been collected like goods and exchanged on the market where, like other assets, their economic value is always affected by changes. As an asset, the artwork must be protected to preserve his value. Exhibiting it is seen as consumption. Transportation is always risky and even exposure to light can be harmful. Safe storage is necessary, preferably in countries where transitions of goods are free of customs duties and taxes. In free ports, collectors are once again reliant on the use of intimate spaces to preserve their treasures, so intimate that not even they have direct access to the artworks.

The exhibition hall of the Haus der Kulturen der Welt is invaded by a massive object. A platform, akin to a container ship, features eight container rooms, in which twelve artists are exhibiting, as well as a stage area for presentations and discussions. The works of art are displayed in cabinets as they once were, collected valuables of the Wunderkammer, but organized in a building that appears like a segment of an endless warehouse corridor with store rooms on both sides. The construction is realized using a ready-made; the stage element—a system based on a strong, defined grid, normally used to build horizontal surfaces for events—is reinterpreted and used vertically to create walls. Its modularity and the sharp and shiny technical appearance of the aluminium frames make reference to economic and spatial rationality and optimization that form the foundation of the system, linking to the physicality of free port facilities. At the same time, the warm brown of the elements and the enclosed spaces are reminiscent of the intimacy of the Renaissance studiolos, characterized by wooden wall paneling and furniture.

Marc Garrett at the opening ralley of transmediale 2018 face value
Goo Goo Muck Analytics and Sergey Schmidt at the opening ralley of transmediale 2018 face value
Impression of transmediale 2018 face value
Françoise Vergès delivering her keynote "Politics of Forgetfulness" at transmediale 2018 face value
A Becoming Resemblance by Heather Dewey-Hagborg and Chelsea Manning, exhibited at transmediale 2018
Territories of Complicity, installation view, transmediale 2018 face value
James Ferraro presents: Plague at transmediale 2018 face value
Lisa Nakamura delivering her keynote "Call Out, Protest, Speak Back" at transmediale 2018 face value
Impression of the panel "Biased Futures" at transmediale 2018 face value.