Open web award

Der Open Web Award war eine spezielle Zusammenarbeit mit Mozilla Drumbeat für das Festival in 2011. Auf dieser Seite findet ihr die früheren Nominierten und Gewinner.

 

Die kritische Diskussion über die Politik offener und geschlossener Systeme wird in neuen Formaten fortgesetzt.

Der Open Web Book Sprint, das Nachfolge-Projekt des Collaborative Futures Book Sprint der transmediale.10, fand letzte Woche, vom 17. bis 21. Januar, im Vorfeld der transmediale.11 am .CHB statt. Die fünf 'Sprinter' Michelle Thorne, Christopher Adams Lee, Jon Philips, Alejandra Perez, Mick Fuzz and Barry Threw waren für diesen Zeitraum in einen Raum im .CHB 'eingeschlossen' und haben gemeinsam sozusagen aus dem Nichts ein komplettes Buch geschaffen. Wie letztes Jahr leitete den Sprint auch dieses Mal wieder Adam Hyde von Booki und das neue Buch soll die Konturen des Open Web herausstellen und seine unumstößliche Bedeutung als Garantie unserer kulturellen  Ausdrucksfreiheit deutlich machen.

Related participants: 
Date: 
02.02.2011
Format: 
Workshop
Related participants: 
Date: 
04.02.2011
Format: 
Workshop

Für den Open Web Award sind drei Projekte nominiert die das Potenzial des Open Web reflektieren und in kreativen Praktiken aufzeigen; sie finden im Internet statt, setzen freie und offene Technologien ein und fördern Partizipation und Zusammenarbeit.

Drumbeat Project Producer Henrik Moltke vertrat den Award-Partner Mozilla während der Jurysitzungen. Ab dem 15. Oktober 2010 wird auf der Mozilla Drumbeat Plattform aus den drei nominierten Arbeiten durch ein Public Voting ein Gewinner gewählt.

Year: 
2010
Format: 
software
Festival edition: 
2011
Year: 
2010
Format: 
digital image
software
Festival edition: 
2011
Year: 
2009
Format: 
software
Festival edition: 
2011

Auch in diesem Jahr konnte die transmediale wieder fünf herausragende Persönlichkeiten der digitalen Kunst- und Kulturszene für die Jury des transmediale Award 2011 und des erstmals ausgeschriebenen Open Web Award 2011 gewinnen:  Die Kuratorin, Pädagogin und Beraterin Defne Ayas. Micz Flor, Kritiker und früher Netzaktivist. Die in NY lebende Künstlerin Marisa Olson. Der Installationskünstler und Autor Brandon LaBelle. Matteo Pasquinelli, Autor, Kurator und Forscher an der Queen Mary University of London.

transmediale und Mozilla schreiben gemeinsam den Open Web Award aus, eine Plattform für radikale, offene und kreative Kunstwerke & Projekte aus, die:
> Im Internet stattfinden
> Freie und offene Technologien einsetzen
> Partizipation und Zusammenarbeit fördern

Open web award

The Open Web Award was a special collaboration project between Mozilla Drumbeat for the 2011 festival. On this page you can see our previous nominees and winners.

 

The critical discussion of the politics of open and closed systems will continue in new formats.

The 2011 Open Web Book Sprint, the follow-up to the 2010 Collaborative Futures Book Sprint, took place at the Collegium Hungaricum Berlin (.CHB), between 17 and 21 January 2011, in the lead up to transmediale.11. During this time six sprinters – Michelle  Thorne, Christopher Lee Adams, Jon Phillips, Alejandra Perez, Mick Fuzz and Barry Threw – were 'locked' into a room at .CHB to produce an entire book from scratch. This year's sprint was also facilitated by Adam Hyde from FLOSS Manuals, with a book that intends to define the contours of what an Open Web should and could be, and why it is essential for guaranteeing our own cultural expression and freedoms.

Related participants: 
Date: 
02.02.2011
Format: 
Workshop

Nominated for the Open Web Award are three projects that critically consider and make use of the potential of the Open Web. They have an online component, implement open and free technology and facilitate participation and collaboration. Drumbeat Project Producer Henrik Moltke represented award partner Mozilla at the jury session.

From 15 October 2010 the nominated works will be made available on the Mozilla Drumbeat Platform for a public vote that will determine the winner of this award.

Year: 
2010
Format: 
software
Festival edition: 
2011
Year: 
2010
Format: 
digital image
software
Festival edition: 
2011
Year: 
2009
Format: 
software
Festival edition: 
2011

transmediale and CTM are pleased to welcome five key personalities in the fields of digital art and culture as the jury for the transmediale Award 2011 and, for the first Open Web Award: Curator and media arts researcher Defne Ayas, artist, critic and early internet activist Micz Flor, New York based artist and professor Marisa Olson, installation artist and author Brandon LaBelle, and Amsterdam based author and researcher Matteo Pasquinelli . Drumbeat platform developer Henrik Moltke joins the jury for Open Web Award 2011 selection.

transmediale in collaboration with Mozilla have announced the creation of the new Open Web Award 2011 a special third platform for radical, creative and innovative art works and projects that:
> are on the web and about the web
> use open and free technology
> incite participation and/or collaboration