The Eternal Network

The Eternal Network

Year of publication: 
2020
The Eternal Network, Ausstellungskatalog

Die Gruppenausstellung The Eternal Network thematisiert die Beständigkeit von Netzwerken und konzentriert sich dabei auf die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen dieser Netzwerke als Antwort auf den aktuellen gesellschaftlichen und technologischen Wandel. Die Ausstellung ist kuratiert von Kristoffer Gansing.

Das Netzwerk ist zu einer allgegenwärtigen technischen, sozialen und organisatorischen Form geworden. Mitte der 1960er Jahre prägte der Fluxus-Künstler Robert Filliou den Begriff des „Eternal Network“ als Bezeichnung für soziale Interaktionen über Mail Art und andere aufkommende Formen globaler Kommunikation. Im Kontrast zu dieser idealistischen Vorstellung vom Netzwerk stehen die vielen Beschränkungen von Netzwerken, wie sie heute spürbar geworden sind. Vor diesem Hintergrund präsentiert die Ausstellung zwanzig aktuelle Kunstwerke, welche die Rolle des Internets und mit dem Netzwerk verbundene Vorstellungen in den kritischen Verflechtungen von Menschen, Umgebungen und Technologien unserer Zeit aufgreifen oder weiterdenken.

Lese mehr zum Konzept von Kristoffer Gansing.

Mit Kunstwerken von
Ursula Biemann, Blank & Jeron supported by Sakrowski, Tega Brain, Julian Oliver, Bengt Sjölén, Johanna Bruckner, Guo Cheng, Contemporary And (C&), Louise Drulhe, Kyriaki Goni, Darsha Hewitt, Olia Lialina, Aay Liparoto, Robert Luxemburg, Bahar Noorizadeh, Luiza Prado de O. Martins, Timur Si-Qin, Solveig Suess, Tobias Williams 

Revisions von
convex tv, David Garcia, Eric Kluitenberg, David Gauthier, Alessandro Ludovico, The Pervasive Labour Union zine, Piratbyrån, Mindy Seu

Design: 
The Laboratory of Manuel Bürger, Simon Schindele, Johanna Schäfer, Manuel Bürger
Printer: 
Gallery Print, Berlin
Publication language: 
de
Circulation: 
3500
Page count: 
112

share

The Eternal Network

The Eternal Network

Year of publication: 
2020
The Eternal Network, exhibition catalogue

The Eternal Network is a group exhibition about the persistence of networks, with a focus on their potentials and limits in response to current social and technological changes. The exhibition is curated by Kristoffer Gansing.

The network has become an ever-present technical, social, and organizational form. In the mid-1960s, Fluxus artist Robert Filliou coined the term “The Eternal Network,” referring to social interactions taking place through mail art and other emerging means of global communication. This idealistic notion of the network can be contrasted with the many limitations of networks that have become tangible today. With this shift in mind, the exhibition presents twenty recent artworks that re-engage or move beyond the role of the internet and the network imaginary in today’s critical entanglements of humans, environments, and technologies.

Read the curatorial statement by Kristoffer Gansing.

Including artworks by
Ursula Biemann, Blank & Jeron supported by Sakrowski, Tega Brain, Julian Oliver, Bengt Sjölén, Johanna Bruckner, Guo Cheng, Contemporary And (C&), Louise Drulhe, Kyriaki Goni, Darsha Hewitt, Olia Lialina, Aay Liparoto, Robert Luxemburg, Bahar Noorizadeh, Luiza Prado de O. Martins, Timur Si-Qin, Solveig Suess, Tobias Williams 

Revisions by
convex tv, David Garcia, Eric Kluitenberg, David Gauthier, Alessandro Ludovico, The Pervasive Labour Union zine, Piratbyrån, Mindy Seu

Design: 
The Laboratory of Manuel Bürger, Simon Schindele, Johanna Schäfer, Manuel Bürger
Printer: 
Gallery Print, Berlin
Publication language: 
de
Circulation: 
3500
Page count: 
112

share