Robin Fox & Atom TM "Double Vision", Frank Bretschneider & Pierce Warnecke "SINN + FORM"

Date: 
30.01.2015 21:00
Festival edition: 
2015
Format: 
Performance
Location: 
HKW
Auditorium

Deutschlandpremiere von Double Vision, einer neuen Kollaboration zwischen dem vielseitigen Musiker Atom™ und dem australischen Intermedia-Künstler Robin Fox.

Update: Die Double Vision-Performance am Freitag, den 31. Jan ist im Online-Verkauf ausverkauft. Es gibt noch eine limitierte Anzahl an Tickets ab 19:30 am HKW -Ticketcounter.

transmediale / CTM Collaborative Concert I. Deutschlandpremiere von Double Vision, einer neuen Kollaboration zwischen dem vielseitigen Musiker Atom™ und dem australischen Intermedia-Künstler Robin Fox.

Zusammen mit SINN + FORM von Frank Bretschneider und Pierce Warneke

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Partnerfestival CTM – Festival for Adventurous Music and Art präsentiert die transmediale die Deutschlandpremiere von Double Vision, einer neuen Kollaboration zwischen dem vielseitigen Musiker Atom™ (aka. Uwe Schmidt, Atom Heart, Señor Coconut) und dem australischen Intermedia-Künstler Robin Fox. Der kraftvolle dreidimensionale Angriff von Klang, Laserlicht und Videobildern vereint Fox’ beinahe wissenschaftliche Demonstrationen audiovisueller Phänomene und Schmidts dekonstruktivistischen Zugang zu Popmusik in dem Versuch, Möglichkeiten der affektiven Involvierung der Anwesenden zu erkunden.

Als Teil von CTM & transmediale Collaborative Concert I mit Robin Fox’ & Atom™s Double Vision am 30. Januar 2015 werden wir die Weltpremiere von Frank Bretschneiders und Pierce Warneckes SINN + FORM präsentieren.

Sie erforscht die Grenzen des stetigen Versuchs der Menschheit, die Welt zu erfassen und durch Beschreibung und Vorhersagen zu kontrollieren. Ähnlich der Art und Weise wie mathematische und physikalische Theorien Chaos und Zufall mit einbeziehen, erzeugt die Performance einen ständigen Fluss von wahllos generierten Daten, die die musikalischen Rahmenbedingungen Tonlage, Tonlänge, Lautstärke und Klang mit einem Video-Gegenpart zusammenbringen und damit an die Ästhetik von visueller Musik erinnert. 

Double Vision ist eine Kommission von Unsound und dem Adelaide Festival. Mit Unterstützung von Audi.

 

 

share

Related participants:

Robin Fox & Atom TM "Double Vision", Frank Bretschneider & Pierce Warnecke "SINN + FORM"

Date: 
30.01.2015 21:00
Format: 
Performance
Location: 
HKW
Auditorium

transmediale / CTM Collaborative Concert I. Double Vision, the German premiere of a new collaboration between the shape-shifting musician Atom™ and the Australian intermedia artist Robin Fox.

Update: Tickets for Double Vision on Friday, 30 Jan is sold out online. There is a limited amount of tickets at the ticket counter at HKW from 19:30 onwards.

This year’s signature collaborative concerts with partner festival CTM Festival host the German premiere of Double Vision, a new collaboration between shape-shifter Atom™ (aka. Uwe Schmidt, Atom Heart, Señor Coconut) and the Australian intermedia artist Robin Fox in a powerful three-dimensional assault of sound and vision. A performance commissioned by Unsound and Adelaide Festival, Double Vision merges Fox's synaesthetic laser-show and Schmidt's deconstructed take on pop music in an attempt to explore affective involvement in a spectrum ranging from a near scientific demonstration of audiovisual phenomena to the playfulness of pop and back.

The first of two collaborative concerts, this evening also features the world premiere of SINN + FORM, a new project by Raster Noton’s Frank Bretschneider and Pierce Warnecke, which explores the limits of man’s constant attempts to capture and control the world through description and prediction. Reflecting the fact that mathematical and physical theories and models increasingly incorporate chaos and contingency, SINN + FORM (sense + form) takes shape as a modular synthesizer system that produces a constant flow of randomly generated data that influences the musical parameters of pitch, note length, volume, tone.

Bretschneider’s music, recorded on both Buchla and Serge synthesizers at the prestigious EMS Elektronmusikstudion in Stockholm, is fused with Warnecket’s visuals, mechanically produced through printed stills that are modulated through a custom built machine so as to create movement and variations in lighting. The result is a hybrid analogue-digital system that uses light, machine, image and sound to create an interactive multimedia ensemble.

Double Vision is commissioned by Unsound and Adelaide Festival. With additional support by Audi.

share

Related participants: