Open Web Book Sprint

Open Web Book Sprint

The Book Sprinters with their accomplished work at the .CHB
The Book Sprinters with their accomplished work at the .CHB

Der Open Web Book Sprint, das Nachfolge-Projekt des Collaborative Futures Book Sprint der transmediale.10, fand letzte Woche, vom 17. bis 21. Januar, im Vorfeld der transmediale.11 am .CHB statt. Die fünf 'Sprinter' Michelle Thorne, Christopher Adams Lee, Jon Philips, Alejandra Perez, Mick Fuzz and Barry Threw waren für diesen Zeitraum in einen Raum im .CHB 'eingeschlossen' und haben gemeinsam sozusagen aus dem Nichts ein komplettes Buch geschaffen. Wie letztes Jahr leitete den Sprint auch dieses Mal wieder Adam Hyde von Booki und das neue Buch soll die Konturen des Open Web herausstellen und seine unumstößliche Bedeutung als Garantie unserer kulturellen  Ausdrucksfreiheit deutlich machen.

Das Netz sollte Alles sein.

 

Das Internet nimmt heute eine in der Welt unvergleichliche Rolle ein als DIE Technologie von weltweitem Handel und globaler Kommunikation. Von Anbeginn an sollte World Wide Web dabei ein freies und offenes Medium sein, mittels dessen menschliches Wissen nicht nur geschaffen, sondern auch erreichbar und austauschbar werden sollte. Aber dieses Web ist von seinem Ende bedroht.

 

Der Open Web Book Sprint 2011, Nachfolge-Event des Collaborative Futures Book Sprint 2010, fand im Vorfeld der transmediale.11 zwischen dem 17. und 21. Januar 2011 am Collegium Hungarium Berlin (.CHB) statt. Die sechs Sprinter Michelle  Thorne, Christopher Lee Adams, Jon Phillips, Alejandra Perez, Mick Fuzz und Barry Threw waren für diesen Zeitraum in einen Raum 'eingeschlossen', um in intensivster Arbeit ein komplettes Buch aus dem Boden zu stampfen. Wie letztes Mal organisierte auch dieses Jahr Adam Hyde von FLOSS Manuals diesen Sprint. Das Ergebnis ist ein Buch, das das Wesen des Offenen Netzes konturieren und verständlich machen soll, warum es unausweichlich ist als eine Garantie selbständiger, kultureller Freiheiten und Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten.

 

Exemplare von An Open Web sind in limitierter Auflage als transmediale.11 parcours 4 Edition auf dem Festival erhältlich, bzw. können anschliessend via flossmanuals.net oder lulu.com als eine E-Pub bezogen werden.

 

Publiziert mit der Creative Commons Lizenz CC-BY-SA

 

Selbst am Buch weiter arbeiten unter:  http://booki.flossmanuals.net/an-open-web

 

Am 4. Februar zwischen 12:00–15:00 sind Adam Hyde und die Sprinter beim Booki Workshop & Booki Mobile-Event in der Open Zone anzutreffen.

 

Eine Kooperation zwischen transmediale.11 und FLOSS Manuals mit dem .CHB

 

 

Related events:
Booki Workshop & Booki Mobile

share

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Related participants: 
Related artworks:

Open Web Book Sprint

Open Web Book Sprint

The Book Sprinters with their accomplished work at the .CHB
The Book Sprinters with their accomplished work at the .CHB

The 2011 Open Web Book Sprint, the follow-up to the 2010 Collaborative Futures Book Sprint, took place at the Collegium Hungaricum Berlin (.CHB), between 17 and 21 January 2011, in the lead up to transmediale.11. During this time six sprinters – Michelle  Thorne, Christopher Lee Adams, Jon Phillips, Alejandra Perez, Mick Fuzz and Barry Threw – were 'locked' into a room at .CHB to produce an entire book from scratch. This year's sprint was also facilitated by Adam Hyde from FLOSS Manuals, with a book that intends to define the contours of what an Open Web should and could be, and why it is essential for guaranteeing our own cultural expression and freedoms.

The Web was meant to be Everything.

 

The Internet as a whole has now assumed an unparalleled role globally as THE technology of global commerce and communication. The World Wide Web however, from its very inception was designed to be a free and open medium through which human knowledge is created, accessed and exchanged. But, that Web is in danger of coming to a close ...

 

The 2011 Open Web Book Sprint, the follow-up to the 2010 Collaborative Futures Book Sprint, took place at the Collegium Hungaricum Berlin (.CHB), between 17 and 21 January 2011, in the lead up to transmediale.11. During this time six sprinters – Michelle  Thorne, Christopher Lee Adams, Jon Phillips, Alejandra Perez, Mick Fuzz and Barry Threw – were 'locked' into a room at .CHB to produce an entire book from scratch. This year's sprint was also facilitated by Adam Hyde from FLOSS Manuals, with a book that intends to define the contours of what an Open Web should and could be, and why it is essential for guaranteeing our own cultural expression and freedoms.

 
An Open Web, published with a limited run as the transmediale.11 parcours 4 edition, the book will be available for sale at the festival, or afterwards as an e-pub online via flossmanuals.net or lulu.com.

Published under a creative commons license CC-BY-SA
You can also edit this book at: booki.flossmanuals.net/an-open-web

 

On 4 February, 12:00–15:00 you can meet Adam and the sprinters at the Booki Workshop & Booki Mobile event in the Open Zone.

 

A cooperation between transmediale.11 and FLOSS Manuals together with .CHB

 

 

 

 

 

Related events:

Booki Workshop & Booki Mobile

share

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Related participants: 
Related artworks: