Kunstraum Kreuzberg / Bethanien / Crystal World Open Laboratory

Kunstraum Kreuzberg / Bethanien / Crystal World Open Laboratory

Date: 
27.01.2012 19:00
Festival edition: 
2012
Format: 
Partner event
Location: 
Other Locations
Jonathan Kemp. Crystal World Open Laboratory
Jonathan Kemp. Crystal World Open Laboratory

Im The Crystal World Open Laboratory im Rahmen des CTM.12 Festivals werden die Basismaterialien digitaler Geräte (Gold, Silber, Palladium, Silizium etc.) durch mechanische und chemische Verfahren zurückgewonnen. | Vernissage/Opening time & date: 27. Januar 2012, 19:00, Exhibition dates: 28. Januar bis 19 Februar 2012, Address: Kunstraum Kreuzberg / Bethanien, Mariannenplatz 2, 10997 Berlin

The Crystal World Open Laboratory
Artist/s: Martin Howse, Jonathan Kemp, Ryan Jordan, Ralf Baecker and others

 

Im The Crystal World Open Laboratory im Rahmen des CTM.12 Festivals werden die Basismaterialien digitaler Geräte (Gold, Silber, Palladium, Silizium etc.) durch mechanische und chemische Verfahren zurückgewonnen. Dabei werden die oft gefährlichen Prozesse der Wiedergewinnung seltener Rohstoffe aus den Müllkreisläufen nachvollzogen, wie sie Enteignete in allen Teilen der Welt aus Gründen des Überlebens praktizieren. In einem zweiten Schritt werden aus den gewonnenen Rohstoffen neue elektrochemische Versuchsanordnungen zur Erzeugung von Klängen, Licht und anderen Ereignissen konstruiert, die chaotische Materialprozesse nutzen. Die geschlossene, vollständig determinierte Umwelt digitaler Kalkulationen soll durch gewaltsame De-Kristallisation und Re-Kristallisation durchbrochen und geöffnet werden, um psychophysische Verfälschungen und Ungewissheiten in die kristallinen Zyklen zu ätzen. Am Ende des Workshopzeitraumes werden die Ergebnisse in einer Mischung aus Präsentation und Performance vorgeführt. Danach verbleiben das Setting, die Materialien und die erstellten Artefakte als Ausstellung sichtbar.

 

Im Rahmen des Projektes The Crystal World zeigt Ralf Baecker seine Installation „Irrational Computing“. Die Installation ist eine künstlerische Prüfung von Material, Ästhetik und Potential digitaler Prozesse. Die Installation basiert auf Halbleiterkristallen, den Rohstoffen der Informationstechnologie, und bildet durch gezielte Materialmanipulationen eine digitale Signalverarbeitungsmaschine, die an der Trennlinie zwischen Ordnung und Chaos operiert. „Irrational Computing“ verstärkt das Mystische und Magische dieser Materialien, die der Kern unserer uns umgebenden Technologien sind.

 

Der Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien zeigt Gruppen- und Themenausstellungen zu sozialen und kulturellen Gegenwartsprozessen in Auseinandersetzung mit den zeitgenössischen Künsten. Zentrale Aspekte sind hierbei die Kontextualisierung der Projekte und die Berücksichtigung von Diversität, Internationalität und lokalen Bezügen. Der Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien ist eine Einrichtung des Bezirksamtes Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg.

 

Unterstützt von der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung. „Irrational Computing“ entstand im Rahmen einer Residenz bei dock-Berlin in Zusammenarbeit mit der Schering Stiftung.

Vernissage/Opening time & date: 27. Januar 2012, 19:00

Intermediate Presentation: Presentation/Performance The Crystal World Salon, 5.2.2012, 16:00
Opening hours each day: 12 – 19:00
Exhibition dates: 28. Januar bis 19 Februar 2012
Cost: free entry
Address: Kunstraum Kreuzberg / Bethanien, Mariannenplatz 2, 10997 Berlin

> kunstraumkreuzberg.de

> ctm-festival.de
> crystal.xxn.org.uk
> no-surprises.de

 

(Image: Jonathan Kemp. Crystal World Open Laboratory)

 

 

share

Related participants:

Kunstraum Kreuzberg / Bethanien / Crystal World Open Laboratory

Kunstraum Kreuzberg / Bethanien / Crystal World Open Laboratory

Date: 
27.01.2012 19:00
Festival edition: 
2012
Format: 
Partner event
Location: 
Other Locations
Jonathan Kemp. Crystal World Open Laboratory
Jonathan Kemp. Crystal World Open Laboratory

In The Crystal World Open Laboratory for the CTM.12 festival, the basic materials of digital devices (gold, silver, palladium, silicon, etc.) are recovered by mechanical and chemical methods. |  Vernissage/Opening time & date: 27. Januar 2012, 19:00, Exhibition dates: 28. Januar bis 19 Februar 2012, Address: Kunstraum Kreuzberg / Bethanien, Mariannenplatz 2, 10997 Berlin

The Crystal World Open Laboratory
Artist/s: Martin Howse, Jonathan Kemp, Ryan Jordan, Ralf Baecker and others

 

In The Crystal World Open Laboratory for the CTM.12 festival, the basic materials of digital devices (gold, silver, palladium, silicon, etc.) are recovered by mechanical and chemical methods. Here, the often dangerous process of recovering rare raw materials from the waste cycles are revealed, just as is practiced by the dispossessed in all parts of the world for reasons of survival. In a second step, the raw materials gained during the process are used to construct new electrochemical test arrangements for producing sound, light and other events that make use of chaotic material processes. The closed, completely determined environment of digital calculations is broken into and opened up by forcible de-crystallization and re-crystallization in order to etch psychophysical distortions and uncertainties into the crystalline cycles. At the end of the workshop period the results will be displayed in a mixture between presentation and performance. Afterwards, the setting, the materials and the created artifacts will remain visible as an exhibit.

 

As part of the project The Crystal World, Ralf Baecker shows his installation "Irrational Computing". The installation is an artistic examination of the materials, aesthetics and potential of digital processes. The installation is based on semiconductor crystals, the raw materials of information technology, and through targeted manipulation of the materials, it forms a digital signal processing engine that operates on the dividing line between order and chaos. "Irrational Computing" reinforces the mystique and magic of these materials, which are the core of our technology all around us.

 

Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien is an exhibition space for contemporary art with a focus on current social and cultural issues. Central to the projects here are the meaningful contextualisation of themes and consideration for diversity, internationality, and local relevance. Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien is an organisation of the Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg District Council.

 

Supported by the Federal Agency for Civic Education (Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung). "Irrational Computing" was developed as part of a residence at dock-Berlin, in cooperation with the Schering Foundation.


Vernissage/Opening time & date: 27. Januar 2012, 19:00
Intermediate Presentation: Presentation/Performance The Crystal World Salon, 5.2.2012, 16:00
Opening hours each day: 12 – 19:00
Exhibition dates: 28. Januar bis 19 Februar 2012
Cost: free entry
Address: Kunstraum Kreuzberg / Bethanien, Mariannenplatz 2, 10997 Berlin

> kunstraumkreuzberg.de

> ctm-festival.de
> crystal.xxn.org.uk
> no-surprises.de

 

(Image: Jonathan Kemp. Crystal World Open Laboratory)

 

 

share

Related participants: