Himalaya Variations by Tina Tonagel

Date: 
05.02.2011 18:30
Festival edition: 
2011
Format: 
Performance
Location: 
HKW
Hall
Tina Tonagel_Himalaya Variationen
Tina Tonagel_Himalaya Variationen

In dieser Solo-Performance fungieren zwei Overheadprojektoren als analoges VJ-Tool. Aus einer Kombination manueller Klangerzeugung und automatisierter Mechanik erwachsen subtile, polyrhythmische Klänge. Bild und Musik verschmelzen dank des fulminanten Farb- und Lichtspiels auf den Leuchtflächen der Projektoren.

In ihrem Solo-Projekt Himalaya-Variationen nutzt Tina Tonagel zwei Overheadprojektoren als analoges VJ-Tool. Die Leuchtflächen der Projektoren bespielt sie mit einem experimentellen Instrumentarium aus E-Gitarren-Elementen, rotierenden Scheiben, Kugelbahnen, Klangwerken einer Uhr, Lochblechen und Motoren und kombiniert die manuelle Klangerzeugung mit automatisierter Mechanik.

Das Klangspektrum vereint subtile Klänge mit vielschichtigen Rhythmen, während in der Projektion durch die Überlagerung der zwei Bilder und die direkte visuelle Übersetzung der Klangerzeugung ein fulminantes Farb- und Lichtspiel entsteht, das die Grenzen zwischen Bild und Musik verschmelzen lässt.

 

http://www.tinatonagel.de/

share

Related participants: 
Related texts:

Himalaya Variations by Tina Tonagel

Date: 
05.02.2011 18:30
Format: 
Performance
Location: 
HKW
Hall
Tina Tonagel_Himalaya Variationen
Tina Tonagel_Himalaya Variationen

In this solo performance two overhead projectors function as an analogue VJ tool. From a combination of analogue and automated sound production, subtle, polyrhythmic sounds grow. Image and music merge thanks to the brilliant colour and light display on the illuminated surfaces of the projectors.

In her solo project Himalaya Variations, Tina Tonagel uses two overhead projectors as an analogue VJ tool. She plays an experimental instrument system arranged on the illuminated surface made up of electric guitar elements, rotating disks, steel ball tracks, the sound making parts of an alarm clock, perforated sheet metal and motors, combining manual and automatic mechanisms for sound production.

The sound spectrum combines subtle sounds with intricate rhythms while the projection through two superimposed images and the direct visual translation of sound production creates a brilliant colour and light display that blurs the boundaries between image and music.

 

Audio-visual performance

Improvisation with two overhead projectors and a range of custom-built electronic sound generators.

 

http://www.tinatonagel.de/

share

Related participants: 
Related texts: