Datafied Research: Capture Weather - A talk about the weather

Datafied Research: Capture Weather - A talk about the weather

Date: 
29.01.2015 11:00
Festival edition: 
2015
Format: 
Conference
Location: 
HKW
Café Stage

Dieses Panel wird den allgegenwärtigen Gesprächsbeginn thematisieren: das Wetter.

"How do you catch a cloud and pin it down?” Rodgers and Hammerstein, The Sound of Music, RCA Victor, 1965. CD.

 

Dieses Panel mit Teilnehmern des Datafied Research PhD Workshops wird den allgegenwärtigen Gesprächsbeginn thematisieren: das Wetter. Das Publikum ist dazu eingeladen, sich spielerisch an Diskussionen zu beteiligen, in denen es um Konzepte wie Daten und Wetter, Klima und Wetter, Krieg und Wetter sowie Vorhersagen und Unsicherheiten geht – dabei werden auch einige speziell angefertigte „Wetterdrinks“ gereicht werden. Wie spielen scheinbar beherrschende und doch örtlich angesiedelte Themen im Zeitalter des Cloud-Computing und der „Umbrella Revolutions“ auf einen Dialog mit dem Festivalthema CAPTURE ALL an?

Über Datafied Research
Datafied Research zeigt Ergebnisse eines Ph.D-Seminars, organisiert vom Centre for Participatory IT an der Aarhus University, School of Creative Media an der Hong Kong City University und transmediale. Es ist das vierte dieser Art in einer fortlaufenden Kooperation zwischen der transmediale, der Aarhus Universität und wechselnden Partnern (Universität der Künste Berlin 2011, Leuphana Universität 2012 und Kunsthal Aarhus 2013). Die Ziele der Veranstaltungen sind es, den thematischen Rahmen der transmediale als Forschungsthema zu behandeln sowie ein „Peer-to-Peer-Newspaper“ zum Festival hin herauszubringen. Darüber hinaus werden die teilnehmenden Forscher dazu eingeladen, ihre Arbeiten beim akademischen Online-Journal APRJA (A Peer Reviewed Journal About Datafied Research) einzureichen.
Indem Datafied Research als Thema behandelt wird, reagieren der Workshop und die Veröffentlichung auf bekannte Begriffe der Datafizierung, unter anderem „the datafied self”, „the datafied city”, „datafied management”, und machen auch auf die dunklen Kräfte aufmerksam, die daran beteiligt sind, Daten zu sammeln und zu nutzen – auch innerhalb der Wissenschaft selbst.
Wir produzieren, teilen, sammeln, archivieren, nutzen und missbrauchen – wissend oder unwissend – riesengroße Datenmengen, aber was macht dieses Anhäufen mit uns? Was sind die Beziehungen zwischen Datengut und menschlichen Objekten? Indem sie diese Fragen stellen, suchen die Teilnehmer nach Einblicken in die Logik des Datenflusses zwischen Materialien, Dingen, Daten, Code, Software, Interfaces und anderen, das eine „Capture All“-Kultur durchdringt. Anstatt einfach nur nachzuahmen, wie die Naturwissenschaften Big Data nutzen, müssen die Künste und Geisteswissenschaften den komplexen Fragen nachgehen, was Datafizierung mit uns macht, und wie wir anfangen können, mit ihr umzugehen.
 

share

Related texts: 
Related events: 
Related publications:

Datafied Research: Capture Weather - A Talk About the Weather

29.01.2015 11:00
Festival edition: 
Café Stage

This panel will consist of a conversation about that ubiquitous conversation starter: the weather.

"How do you catch a cloud and pin it down?” Rodgers and Hammerstein, The Sound of Music, RCA Victor, 1965. CD.

This panel, featuring participants of the Datafied Research PhD workshop, will consist of a conversation about that ubiquitous conversation starter: the weather. Including the serving of some specially crafted “weather drinks,” audience members will be invited to playfully engage in discussions that touch on such concepts as data and weather, climate and weather, war and weather, forecast and uncertainty. In an age of cloud computing and umbrella revolutions, how might seemingly pervasive but nevertheless locally situated issues around weather be seen to hint at a dialogue on the festival’s main theme of CAPTURE ALL?

About Datafied Research
Datafied Research launches the outcome of a Ph.D. seminar organised by the Centre for Participatory IT at Aarhus University, School of Creative Media at Hong Kong City University and transmediale. It is the fourth of its kind in an ongoing collaboration between transmediale, Aarhus University, and changing partners (Universität der Künste Berlin 2011, Leuphana Universität 2012, and Kunsthal Aarhus 2013). The aims of the events are to address the thematic framework of transmediale as a research topic, and to publish a ‘peer-reviewed’ newspaper to be launched at the festival. Furthermore, the participating researchers are invited to submit their work to the online academic journal APRJA (A Peer Reviewed Journal About Datafied Research).
By addressing Datafied Research, the workshop and the publications address popular notions of datafication; including “the datafied self”,” the datafied city”, “datafied management”, and call for a reflection on the darker forces involved in capturing and using data – also within research itself.
We produce, share, collect, archive, use and misuse, knowingly or not, massive amounts of data, but what does “capture” do to us? What are the inter-subjective relations between data-commodity and human subjects? By asking these questions, the participants seek insights into the logics of data flows between materials, things, data, code, software, interfaces and other stuff that permeates a culture of “capture all”. Rather than merely mimicking the sciences’ use of (big) data, the arts and humanities must explore the complex questions of what datafication does to us, and how we might begin to do things to it.


Related texts: 
Related events: 
Related publications: